Society for Micro- and Nanoelectronics
Archive News & Dates
  
  
  
   
  Set Page Contrast  
   
 

Archive of News & Dates

On this page, old, meanwhile expired entries from the section "News & Dates" are displayed for reference purposes:

Display complete list of items

"IEEE Cledo Brunetti Award" 2018 for Siegfried Selberherr

Karen Bartleson, 2018 Past IEEE President, awards the "IEEE Cledo Brunetti Award" to Siegfried Selberherr; Foto © IEEE

On December 4th, 2018, Siegfried Selberherr received the internationally highest ranking award for activities in the area of microelectronics, the "IEEE Cledo Brunetti Award". The award ceremony took place during a gala dinner for about 2000 participants in the course of the "International Electron Devices Meeting 2018". The dedication of the Award was "For pioneering contributions to Technology Computer Aided Design."

The price, awarded once a year, is funded from the bequest of Cledo Brunetti and dedicated to "Outstanding Contributions to Nanotechnology and Miniaturization in the Electronics Arts". Its first awardees in 1978 were Jack Kilby, one of the "inventors" of the integrated circuit, and Robert Noyce, the founder of Intel.

Cledo Brunetti was an outstanding engineer of the American "National Bureau of Standards", which is the reason why the broad public hardly learned about his inventions and developments, or at least very late. Among others, he miniaturized the walkie talkie, integrated its components and made it usable in civil life.

The Society for Micro- and Nanoelectronics congratulates Siegfried Selberherr to this remarkable achievement!

Karen Bartleson, 2018 Past IEEE President, awards the "IEEE Cledo Brunetti Award" to Siegfried Selberherr; Foto © IEEE

Award document and medal

List of the recipients of the Cledo Brunetti Award

to the top of the page
© Society for Micro- and Nanoelectronics 1995 - 2022

Gesellschaft für Mikro- und Nanoelektronik
News & Termine
  
  
  
   
  Seitenkontrast einstellen  
   
 

News und Termine

Auf dieser Seite werden aktuelle Informationen und gegebenenfalls Veranstaltungen und Aktivitäten, bei denen die GMe federführend tätig ist, angekündigt. Ältere Informationen sowie frühere, bereits abgeschlossene Veranstaltungen sind auf der Seite "Archiv News und Termine" aufgelistet.

Vollständige Liste der Mitteilungen anzeigen

"IEEE Cledo Brunetti Award" 2018 für Siegfried Selberherr  (Erstellt: 05.12.2018)

Überreichung des Cledo Brunetti Awards durch Karen Bartleson, 2018 Past IEEE President; Foto © IEEE

Am 4. Dezember 2018 wurde in einer Galaveranstaltung mit 2000 Teilnehmern im Zuge des "International Electron Devices Meeting 2018" die international höchste Auszeichnung, die für Tätigkeiten auf dem Forschungsgebiet der Mikroelektronik einmal im Jahr verliehen wird, an Siegfried Selberherr überreicht. Sein Preis wurde gewidmet "For pioneering contributions to Technology Computer Aided Design."

Der Preis, gestiftet aus dem Vermögen von Cledo Brunetti für "Outstanding Contributions to Nanotechnology and Miniaturization in the Electronics Arts", wurde erstmals 1978 an Jack Kilby, einem der "Erfinder" der integrierten Schaltung, und Robert Noyce, dem Gründer von Intel, verliehen.

Cledo Brunetti war ein herausragender Ingenieur des amerikanischen "National Bureau of Standards", weshalb seine Erfindungen und Entwicklungen nicht oder nur sehr spät in der Öffentlichkeit bekannt wurden. Unter vielem hat er das tragbare Funksprechgerät (Walkie Talkie) miniaturisiert, dessen Komponenten integriert und es der zivilen Nutzung zugeführt.

Die Gesellschaft für Mikro- und Nanoelektronik gratuliert Siegfried Selberherr zu dieser bemerkenswerten Auszeichnung!

Überreichung des Cledo Brunetti Awards durch Karen Bartleson, 2018 Past IEEE President; Foto © IEEE

Urkunde und Medaille

Liste der Empfänger des Cledo Brunetti Awards

zum Seitenanfang
© Gesellschaft für Mikro- und Nanoelektronik 1995 - 2019